Outcomes of the Global Climate Change Conference in Durban (COP17)

Webinar | 30 January, 2012, 14:00 CET

UNEP FI is pleased to invite you to join a webinar with leading financial representatives on the recent 17th Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP17). The recent climate change conference, which took place in Durban, South Africa, is believed to have been a game-changer in the world’s efforts to address what is arguably the greatest challenge it faces – climate change. If you are interested to learn more about the results of this conference as well as what they could possibly imply for financial and risk transfer markets around the world, join climate change experts from financial institutions and peer professionals for this UNEP FI webinar. The webinar takes place on 30 January, 2012 at 2:00 pm Central European Time (or 8:00 am US Eastern time; 6:30 pm Delhi time; 9:00 pm Hong Kong time) In particular, this webinar will report back on:

  • Why the results of this conference were different than anything this process has delivered before.
  • How the now operationalised mammoth Green Climate Fund could unlock the skills and expertise of the financial markets towards low-carbon and climate resilient economies in developing countries.
  • How world governments are now looking to slow down global deforestation trends in the tropics, one of the major sources of greenhouse gas emissions and many other environmental challenges.
  • How world governments are looking to work with the insurance industry in building climate resilience among poor communities in developing countries.

Download Webinar recording (Windows Media: 57MB file)

Speakers

  • Nick Robins, HSBC, co-chair of the UNEP FI Climate Change working group
  • Andreas Spiegel, Director, Risk Management, SwissRe
  • Karin Ireton, Director of Group Sustainability, Standard Bank
  • Abyd Karmali, Managin Director and Head of Global Carbon Markets, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Registration

Please kindly register by 25 January, 12:00 CET, in order to secure your access to the webinar. Register here.