Regional Roundtable Africa and Middle East 2021

22-23 June 2021 | Virtual Event

AGENDASPEAKERSSPONSORS AND PARTNERSWATCH RECORDINGS

UNEP FI hosted its Regional Roundtable on Sustainable Finance for Africa and Middle East as a virtual event on 22–23 June 2021, with the support of RepRisk. The virtual event helped define the role of banking, insurance and investment in shaping ambitious responsible and sustainable strategies to proactively address the challenges and opportunities of a green recovery whilst transitioning to a low-carbon, inclusive and sustainable future in Africa and Middle East.

Watch event recordings here  

Day 1
Geneva - 12:00
Kenya - 13:00

Opening remarks



Juliette Biao - Director and Regional Representative for Africa, UN Environment Programme


Geneva - 12:05
Kenya - 13:05
Next steps to financing a green and inclusive recovery in Africa and Middle East



Olufunso Somorin - Regional Principal Officer, African Development Bank
Nuru Mugambi - Public Affairs Director and Sustainable Finance Lead, Kenya Bankers Association
Amal Benaissa - Sustainable Finance Manager, Bank of Africa - BMCE Group
Dr Aisha Usman Mahmood - Special Adviser to the Governor on Sustainable Banking, Central Bank of Nigeria
Reuben Wambui - Regional Coordinator for Africa, UNEP FI


Geneva - 12:45
Kenya - 13:45
The role of finance institutions in financing a circular economy



Madeleine Ronquest - Head of Environmental and Social Risk, Climate Change, FirstRand Limited
Mofifoluwa Ayokunnumi Olawumi - Sustainability Partnerships, Access Bank PLC
Peter Odhengo - Climate Finance Policy Advisor, National Treasury Kenya
• Moderator: Peggy Lefort - Resource Efficiency Coordinator, UNEP FI


Geneva - 13:50
Kenya - 14:50
Mapping ocean finance for a new decade: Sustainable Blue Economy Finance



Lucy Holmes - Senior Programme Manager Seafood Finance, WWF
Francis Chen - Senior Manager, Green Finance, Industrial Bank Co., Ltd. (CIB)
Melissa Walsh - Program Manager, Ocean Finance Initiative, Asian Development Bank (ADB)
• Moderator: Dennis Fritsch - Program Coordinator, Blue Economy Finance Initiative, UNEP FI

Geneva - 14:40
Kenya - 15:40
Harnessing insurance for the Sustainable Development Goals (iSDGs)



Dr Caesar Mwangi - CEO, ICEA LION Insurance Holdings
Hope Murera - CEO, Zep Re
Sergio Dias - Head of Key Account Management, RepRisk
Sesilia Tshotshawo Nkoshi - Senior Underwriter for Non-life Reinsurance, Namibia National Reinsurance Corporation
Butch Bacani - Programme Leader, UNEP Principles for Sustainable Insurance
Day 2
Geneva - 12:00
Kenya - 13:00

Opening Remarks



Sami Dimassi - Director and Regional Representative for West Asia, UN Environment Programme


Geneva - 12:05
Kenya - 13:05
Achieving net-zero for Africa and Middle East



Judith Sidi Odhiambo - Head of Corporate and Regulatory Affairs, KCB Group Plc
Dr Dalia Abdel Kader - Chief Sustainability Officer, Commercial International Bank Egypt
Davinah Milenge Uwella - Principal Programme Coordinator, African Development Bank
• Moderator: Remco Fischer - Climate Lead, UNEP FI


Geneva - 12:50
Kenya - 13:50

Addressing climate risks through UNEP FI's TCFD programme



David Carlin - TCFD Programme Lead, UNEP FI
Maheen Arshad - TCFD Programme, UNEP FI


Geneva - 13:50
Kenya - 14:50
Financial inclusion and risk protection for a resilient society



Lesley Ndlovu - CEO, Africa Risk Capacity
Laila Hosny - Head of CSR and Sustainable Development, ALEXBANK
• Moderator: Rachael Mpashi-Marx - Project Manager, UNEP FI


Geneva - 14:40
Kenya - 15:40
Projects and partnerships to advance sustainable finance in MENA



Sina Hbous - Executive Director, Regional Center for Sustainable Finance (FRA)
Lamia Merzouki - Deputy General Manager, Casablanca Finance City Authority (CFCA)
Sujala Pant - Chief Technical Advisor, SDG - Climate Facility Project (multi-partner)
Dr Nasser H. Saidi - Chairman of the Regional Clean Energy Business Council
• Moderator: Nuran Atef - Regional Coordinator for MENA, UNEP FI

 

Facebooktwitterlinkedin